Club History

The Nightcliff Cricket Club was formed in 1968 from the old Commonwealth Department of Works Cricket Club and was a foundation affiliate club of the Nightcliff Sports Club the following year.

NCC has developed from a one-side club to a fully fledged competitor in Territory Cricket. NCC consists of five senior grades and four junior grades (with eight junior sides) as well as well-attended seasons of Woolworths Blast (formerly In2Cricket) clinics run by NCC from May each year for 5 to 8 year-old players.

This increase in size has also seen an increase in success at NCC. The NCC routinely has a number of Senior and Junior sides competing in the finals with regular premierships as the pinnacle of success. NCC has won three A-grade premierships and a large number of other Senior and Junior premierships. Our A-Grade side won the ‘Triple Crown’ in 2010 (including the OD Final and the McDonalds Twenty-20 Final) and we claimed the Senior Club Championship in 2018.

Your image

Over the years NCC has been proud to count players of national standing on its list. These include Australian Test Cricketers Peter Sleep and Rick Darling as well as first class players such as Peter Gonella (WA), Paul Hutchinson and Brett Swain (SA) and home grown Mark Hatton (Tasmania & ACT). Mark Hatton has played cricket for Nightcliff for several seasons with distinction and was part of the 1996 and 2010 A-Grade Premiership teams as well as the 2011 B-Grade Flag-winning side. In the 2011/12 Sheffield Shield season, home-grown Tiger Ryan James, who started with the Nightcliff Tigers back in In2Cricket (then Milo Have-a-Go), gained selection for Western Australia against New South Wales for a Sheffield Shield game. In 2011 Doug Bracewell, who played for Nightcliff in the 2010 DDCA Cricket season gained Test selection for New Zealand. Doug starred in New Zealand’s stirring victory against Australia in Hobart in late 2011.

As well as these players, NCC is proud of the large number of Territory representatives selected from both its Senior and Junior ranks. NCC also has a large number of leading and award-winning players in Territory cricket.

Club Premierships

NCC has continued to have success on the field across all grades, Juniors and Seniors.

1982 A, B U12 
1984 C, D, U14 
1986 U14 
1988 U16 
1990 U12, U16 
1991 C, U16 
1994 U17

1996 A, U17, U13 
1997 U13 
2008 A (T20), U15 Red 
2009 U13 Red, U13 Black 2010 A (T20, Cas Cup, VB Gold Cup), D, U13 Blue

2011 B, E, U13, U11 
2012 U17 
2013 U15 
2015 U15 
2017 U15 Blue 
2018 E , U18 
2020 U15 Blue, U15 Red 
2021 B, U18
2022 A (T20), C